The Day After


[The phone rings, it’s 8.30am]

– It’s the first day of the rest of your life!
– Are you kidding me?
– No, it’s the first day of the rest of your life and it’s a Saturday! Think about it!
– I have slept for barely an hour, I refuse to think (in reality, I just can’t).

[A short conversation follows, the call ends]

[A couple of hours later, having slept some more and been woken up by the sun shinning through the window curtain]

– It could be the first day of the rest of my life. And it is a Saturday. I would have had it no other way.

P.S. Thank You, and You, and You (not numerically restricted).

4 thoughts on “The Day After

  1. You are 23 years old and you are now officially a lecturer not even half way through your PhD. I call this success. I’d consider changing the name of this blog, I see no failure in this paradigm :)Even the universe conspired and dawned your first day on a Saturday. I foresee nothing but smiles tiger, nothing but smiles!

  2. Δεν υπάρχεις, δεν υπάρχεις, απλά you don’t exist βρε παιδάκι μου πώς το λένε! Σε τίποτα! You are brilliant and this post is a brilliant conception. You will do big things one day, I’ve told you so.

  3. Αγάπη μου εσύ πού θα φτάσεις πραγματικά δε ξέρω! θυμάσαι που μου έλεγες εκείνο το βράδυ για να με ξεαγχώσεις πως κάποιοι άνθρωποι λέει έχουν γεννηθεί με ένα αόρατο αστεράκι πάνω από το κεφάλι τους? και εγώ σου έλεγα πως έχεις ένα πολύ πολύ μεγάλο αλλά μου έλεγες πως λέω χαζα? δικαιώθηκα εχτές επιτέλους έμπρακτα 🙂

    υ.γ. το κείμενο είναι υπέροχο, υπέροχο.

Leave a Reply

