Do I Dare


Do I dare
Disturb the universe?
In a minute there is time
For decisions and revisions which a minute will reverse.
For I have known them all already, known them all–
Have known the evenings, mornings, afternoons,
I have measured out my life with coffee spoons;
I know the voices dying with a dying fall
Beneath the music from a farther room.
So how should I presume?

Silence is an element of fear, I once argued. Little did I know. Now I don’t even dare to break it.
Time past is inversely proportional to audacity. Thankfully.

P.S. “And would it have been worth it, after all […] to say: “I am Lazarus, come from the dead“. It is only in the sunset of dissolution after all that even the guilotine is illuminated by the aura of nostalgia. Instead, it could be the perfect time I picked up The book again; and you finished yours.

Leave a Reply

